Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In the era of globalization, many countries import international food from far-flung areas. According to some individuals, it can be more advantageous to our environment as well as the economy if people consume national food. Although there are some drawbacks to importing outside food, in my opinion, there are more benefits. To begin with the negative points, first and foremost, it has diverse effects on the environment. To put it simply, to ship food items, a large number of materials is required, which is responsible for causing a huge amount of waste. In addition to this, due to the frequent transportation to deliver these products, air contamination happens. For example, to send or receive different food products, air, water or road transport is essential, which releases greenhouse gases and pollutes the air. Besides this, these modes of transportation mean that it requires a high amount of budget. It is observed that imported items are generally more costlier than domestic ones because the government imposes more tariffs to recover the cost of moving them. On the flip side, there are an array of positive points associated with this activity. Firstly, immigrants can get all types of ingredients, which are of paramount importance to them. In other words, nowadays, there is a high percentage of the population that migrates from one nation to another, and they wholeheartedly wish that they get all the necessary food products, which they were using in their home countries. As a result, it undoubtedly gives them immense joy when they get these items. Secondly, citizens of other states have numerous options. For instance, in Canada, customers have multiple options to choose from and try various products because this country is importing a variety of items from different countries; as a result, residents get satisfactory feelings. Last but not least, it helps in promoting domestic product. The local farmers get an opportunity to sell their products internationally, which can help in generating more revenue for them. In conclusion to the aforementioned statements, due to the advancement of technology and modernization, it has become possible to exchange numerous foods globally. Despite the fact that there are some demerits to this trend, the number of merits is more than it.