Chevening is looking for individuals with strong professional relationship-building skills, who will engage with the Chevening community and influence and lead others in their chosen profession. Please explain how you build and maintain relationships in a professional capacity, using clear examples of how you currently do this, and outline how you hope to use these skills in the future.

A Relationship is the most important thing at work. After that, a good connection among all people will produce a great opportunity, not only for the company itself, but also for the staff. Even now, I try to understand how people communicate with each other. To be engaged with the community, I will clarify my explanation about maintaining my relationship-building skills. It has been 5 years since I graduated from college, yet I still learn how to talk with others or even strangers. There are several aspects that influence communication such as gesture, confidence, empathy, respect, and many more. Besides, experience is the most important because you will be taught by a good or a bad decision. In the end, I have to learn all those points independently to reach communication and relationships skills. To illustrate, I had been involved in a community that should maintain orphans (children between 5 and 15 years old) from several backgrounds. I should create a show (musical performance) that was performed by them. I had only one month to teach them. To handle those children, firstly, I tried to talk with the oldest and I needed their help to manage the youngster. With good relationships between them, the youngster would respect the oldest so better communication will be easier for me. Then, I always gave some rewards to the children, if they could show their best ability at the show. This condition could create a competitive atmosphere to give their best. In the end, we could be a solid team and gave our greatest performance. Today, I still develop my method when I am at the office because there are a lot of people in different societies. I always speak in a polite way, if I meet new people. This polite communication is not only for my boss, but also for all the staff. I think polite communication will give respect to the people that we are talking to. Then, I have to handle other people's perspectives, if they are not being polite. I should bargain and negotiate to reach our decision. Besides, good gestures will help you to build relationships with others. It will depict your personality when you meet someone. To summarize, I believe that good communication will help you to build good relationships. There are several ways to communicate, but you can choose the most effective way to build your relationship-building skills. It depends on the people to whom you are talking.