Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays as many people are occupying space, they are demanding water and food requests. As we can see, there is a population that is increasing. As a result, they are generating serious environmental issues around the world. In the following essay, I will explain two reasons why it is happening and my opinion. Firstly, careless people who damage new environments to fulfil their own interests are growing in number. People will not care how badly they can destroy something natural, as long as they do what they want. For example, in Australia, the government has announced that 220 trees, and houses of many species, will be cut down to build house units in a new residence area due to population growth. Secondly, there is a segment of the population that indulges in excessive consumption and wastefulness. These individuals purchase a multitude of disposable products without considering the long-term consequences, leading to resource depletion and environmental degradation. For instance, fast fashion brands such as H&M and UNIQLO are representative short-term product shops. To sum up, the increasing global population has led to a heightened demand for resources, resulting in severe environmental challenges. This is primarily due to the disregard for nature driven by self-interest and the wasteful consumption patterns of some individuals. In my opinion, people who do not care about the natural environment lead to high risk to our lives.