In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society

Thanks to the improvement of living standards worldwide, an increasing number of dwellers are able to live longer than before, which brings both advantages and disadvantages on the societal level. From my perspective, I believe it may suffer more in the long run, if proper measures are not taken to address the problem. One social problem related to population ageing is that medical costs will increase dramatically and hurt the economy. The need for medical care as well as the spending on it tends to increase with age. Elderly people are prone to health problems such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes and cancer, so a country with a large proportion of aged people has to fuel the expenditure on medical services to treat ageing-related conditions. This leads to a budget cut for education, infrastructure projects and scientific research, which can affect a society adversely not only in the quality of life but also in long-term economic growth. Another issue is that the productivity of the whole society will drop with the growth of an ageing workforce. The society termed “ageing” normally has to raise the pension eligibility age to keep the pension scheme up and running as a result senior citizens are forced to prolong their retirement age. Unfortunately, most of them struggle with cognitive decline and other conditions which can limit their ability to process information and handle work, thus crippling productivity and profitability. This will be a major contributor to exacerbating economic and social progress. On the other hand, it is possible that communities and neighbourhoods can tap into the wisdom and experience of elderly people. Having worked for decades, they are experts in their fields of work and have specialist knowledge and work-related tips that they can share with younger generations. Senior scientists, for example, cannot only devote more time and effort to their careers but also impart useful practical experience and methods to their students, thereby making greater contributions to the public. This would not happen if they were unable to live long lives as a great many of their counterparts died at an early age in the 1900s. In conclusion, although it is beneficial to society when life expectancy is prolonged in some aspects, the issue will take a toll on the country in future if we do not take action as soon as possible.