27.The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to overweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Language is a characteristic feature of humans which forms the foundation of society. In the current age, English has expanded globally which helps unify people from different parts of the world. This expansion is believed to have more merits than demerits. Personally, I am inclined to agree with this notion. To begin with, using English on a global scale can bring numerous benefits to humans. Firstly, it can reduce communication barriers between individuals, regardless of their cultural backgrounds, ethnicity and race. This development enhances mutual understanding, the interchange of ideas and worldwide cooperation. For example, all international conferences, both political and non-political, are held in English. The main reason is that English is the language that most people are familiar with. Secondly, English can be a gateway for people to have higher living standards. To be more specific, the ability to speak English not only enables individuals to travel to several parts of the world but also provides them with more chances to pursue international higher education and better job opportunities. This is because English is the main language that is used in educational institutions and multinational companies. Therefore, they can improve their personal academic qualifications and social status. Nevertheless, it is important that the proliferation of English can pose certain drawbacks. It is undeniable that the dominance of English can lead to the extinction of some minor languages which are less widely spoken and even vanished. In other words, the national identity can be affected significantly. This can be a huge loss for human culture. Additionally, the spread of English can be a cultural and linguistic replacement for some non- English speakers who might be forced to adopt English as their mother tongue to compete in the global market. In conclusion, although the expansion of English as a global language can have detrimental influences on some minorities, I firmly believe that the benefits of this approach are more significant because it has opened a window for a brighter future and brought the world closer.