Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The modern era has changed the way of working, those days are gone when people used to work for an organization. Self-employment emerges to be a viable option for many. The following paragraphs contain a detailed analysis of why this trend becomes more feasible for workers, and the drawbacks it possesses. The option of working for yourself instead of working for someone has gained tremendous support among all working classes. The primary reason is the online marketplace. Instead of getting on a payroll, one can work as a freelancer and can earn more. For example, online platforms like Fiver and Freelancer have provided a stage where anyone can bid and win a project. Another correlating point is the flexibility it offers. Corporate sectors follow rules that the policymakers have given them, they must obey and function within the constraints they have. Whereas a person working from home is not bound by any such limitations. In fact, some companies have attire decorum as well. However, the trend of self-employment holds some disadvantages. The experience of the market is what they lack. Even though they can work for themselves, the exposure that a company gives to its workers is irreplaceable. For instance, the fieldwork and activities their colleagues went through taught them a lot. Moreover, with no corporate experience, their spectrum is limited and would cause a freelancer in the long run. To conclude, both modes of working have something to offer, therefore, the points mentioned above help to come to a decision.