Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A controversial discussion point is whether a country’s culture will be destroyed by the purpose of getting income from tourists. I contend that the country’s value will remain maintained by the vacation industry because it reminds the inhabitants to show the nation’s beauty and share it around the world, despite opinions arguing that the tourism industry will harm the culture due to the influence of foreign tourists. It is self-evident that a country’s culture is a unique value that helps distinguish a nation from others and the duty of every citizen living there is to show these values to the world. Through tourism, the government can encourage the awareness of each people to fulfil their duty. As this encouragement continues, people will start to make these traditional beauties their own and by making these become a part of their life and mental values make the culture itself last longer and pass it to later generations as a result. Thus, the vacation industry itself has shown a side in which it could benefit the effort of preserving a nation’s original value. However, many people believe that holiday businesses will deteriorate the original beauty because of the influence of foreign cultures. Through foreign visitors, new values will eventually impact the lives of local residents, hence fading the local beauty over time. This is a credible point, but it is not always true. It must be understood that for people to take up a new culture, it also depends on their conscious and whether they like it or not. Therefore, tourism is not the key factor of bad influences on the value of a country. The writer’s opinion agrees with the view that tourism is beneficial in maintaining the culture by showing it to other people. Via the tourism industry, local people can express the beauty of their country in their life to foreigners or travel to other countries to express it. Concurrently, some people will see the good values inside and take it up, then share it with other people to learn about. Eventually, not only the country’s value will be sustained but also be shared and learnt. In conclusion, tourism is helpful in sustaining the culture by raising the local awareness and travelling to other countries. Therefore, tourism should be considered not to be detrimental to the culture.