Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, students have more opportunities to decide their time before beginning work or university. Some youngsters believe that a gap year is a good opportunity for high school graduates to travel. However, others disagree and think that it is a waste of valuable time. In my opinion, it is considered that students should choose gap year ” if it has been planned perfectly and fully budgeted. On one hand, it seems a fair suggestion that there are a lot of advantages to follow gap year. Certainly, graduates stop depending on their parents and have more opportunities to become more independent and mature. Moreover, it is a great possibility to see world around, experience new cultures and meet various types people. In addition, graduates also have more time to think about their future career and make the right choice about their degree when they become mature in their thought. On the other hand, although I have some sympathy for this view, it is also true that after gap year, knowledge gained in high school before might be forgotten, as well as students can find difficulties during their studies. For instance, graduates forget basic mathematical knowledge as they have not used in real life; therefore, their study way might be affected. Another problem that can be seen is the financial aspect. It will take a lot of money to travel and people who follow the gap year might use all of their savings for tourism. This leads to bankruptcy and inability to pay school fees. In conclusion, gap year is a good option only if it is perfectly planned and requires many skills to budget the trips to avoid the future financial problems. However, any decision should be considered exactly to ensure a right future.