Some people think that parents should be punished if their children commit crimes because they are responsible for their children's actions To what extent do you agree or disagree

There has been an argument about whether parents of criminals should be punished to pay for their kids' wrong doings. I believe holding parents responsible would not make any positive changes and also, I think they are being punished even without going to court. Parents of people who commit crimes are usually punished even more than we can imagine. Firstly, they usually feel guilty and regretful both for ruining their children's lives and also for the damage they've done to the society. Secondly, they can not hold their heads up in their own neighborhood and they are constantly being shamed by their neighbors. Finally, they often will have to pay the price. For example, they need to bail their kids out with money or house documents, pay their debts and sometimes if they have grandchildren, raise them on their own even if they are old and unable to take care of themselves. With these in mind, I still don't think further tormenting the family of the person in fault, would have enough positive effect in our society. Punishing has two sides in my view; One is personal and the other is public. It has to make the criminal, sorry for his actions and make him want to change for the better. Furthermore, the public side of punishments are there to teach the population that every action has its consequences. However, punishing parents does not apply to any of the factors mentioned above and therefore, it is pointless. To conclude, wanting parents to go to jail for the crime of their children, even though they are paying heavy prices in many other ways, is in my opinion, misleading and has no benefit for the society and hence, I strongly disagree with this scheme.