some people beleive that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting culture

In this day and age, the topic of whether or not to use culture as a tool to boost the economy is something which bears some consideration. Despite the writer contending that tourism plays a vital role in preserving the culture since it advertises their national identity and provides money for renovation or repairs,some people believe that traditions or customs can be destroyed. There are many benefits why people choose to protect culture by making money from holidaymakers and travellers. First of all, it helps the customs and traditions of a country become globally known and therefore not easily become extinct. For example, Hue folk songs which are predicted to disappear suddenly came back to life after receiving compliments from both the locals and the foreigners. If they use tourists' money efficiently, local authorities and governments can have a budget surplus to fund the schemes involved in rebuilding a historic fortress or hiring more safeguards to protect them from thieves specialising in stealing antiques. However, I understand why people have prejudice when it comes to travelling and culture. One of the key reasons behind this objection is the fact that there are still tourists who don't respect the native inhabitants and have actions that are unacceptable in that region. For example, there was a news report about a European couple who refused to take off their shoes when going into a mosque and the female didn't seem apologetic that her shorts were inappropriate in these scarce places. Another reason worth considering is that some historical sites become touristy and lose their original purpose and beauty.Take a popular cathedral, La Monesa, as an example as its religious and peaceful surroundings were lost after welcoming thousands of tourists every year. Despite seeing some aggressive arguments, tourism proved to be a powerful assistant for culture since it helps to advertise the national identity and gives financial support for reconstruction projects. Therefore, the writer has pointed out the reasons why the advantages of tourism outweigh its advantages.