Some people think that dangerous extreme sports such as rock climbing and sky-diving should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some call for banning of extreme sports like rock climbing and sky-diving for being dangerous. While there is some truth to this assertion, I largely disagree with it. Admittedly, illegalizing extreme sports can be justified on several grounds. The primary reason is concern over safety. Since extreme sports entail huge risk, participants may sustain severe physical injuries such as bone fractures and, in some scenarios, die. In this respect, banning such sports appears a logical measure to prevent these misfortunes. Apart from safety hazard, there is an environmental impact to consider. Cases of pristine habitats being converted to racing tracks and mountain peaks being littered with human junk have grown with the growing popularity of extreme sports. Hence, one would be right to assume that the prohibition of extreme sports can avert further contamination and possible destruction of the environment. Despite the reasons stated above, I am opposed to imposing limitations on extreme sports. My reason being, extreme sports are a boon to the economy: It is a lucrative industry that generates considerable revenue as well as employing many people. Equipment cost, training, safety checks and permits mean many vacancies and large profits both to organizers and the government, so revenue and job losses ensue as a result of the restriction of extreme sports. Furthermore, shutting down extreme sports is likely to be met with strong public disapproval. Millions of extreme sports enthusiasts and viewers across the world would protest if the government were to forbid extreme sports. In conclusion, though I admit banning extreme sports seems logical for a few reasons, I am generally against it seeing as doing so could undermine the economy and cause public discontent.