Companies spent millions each year on advetising online in magazine and bill board. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

Consumerism has a great impact on today's life. Firms spent a lot of money to influence the people through their adverts which makes the public to grab things eventhough they were not in need of that. This essay will discuss the merits and the demerits of business in the upcoming paragraphs. To embark on, there are several benefits of consumerism. Due to its great impact, people can have a wide range of choices in getting products from different countries in despite of where they stay. For instance, a person in the UK can buy a USA made product from a local shop. Moreover, business may lead to a plethora of job oppurtunities which can reduce the poverty to an extent especially, this will helps the developing nations to improve their economic structure. However, the main drawback of the consumerism is that people became materialistic. To be more precise, nowadays, people are being judged by the materials rather than their personality. For example, when a person buys an expensive watch due to its attractiveness, irrespective of the usage to show the wealth. Besides, commercialism can have a impact on the nature by the increased waste production happening from it. This may lead to a catastrophic situation, where we may need to give more attention. To sum up, capitalism can help the public by providing a wide range of work oppurtunities, Nevertheless, it may endanger the natural resources by creating an enormous amount of wastage. If strict laws are implemented, tackling this issue would not be a big deal.