26.Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

Taking a gap year after completing high school to work and travel has become a popular trend among young people. This approach has both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. To begin with, a gap year enables teenagers to have more time to explore their interests, strengths and passions. This will be a valuable time for self-discovery, helping them to make informed decisions about their academic studies and future careers. In fact, there is now a phenomenon that a great number of students decide to quit their educational institutions after studying for one or two years. This is because they are no longer interested in the majors they chose. Additionally, spending one year working or travelling can provide learners with the necessary working experience and knowledge that are useful for students when they come back to university or participate in the workplace in the future. For example, the knowledge about diverse cultures accumulated by travelling to different parts of the world can be an advantage for students of hospitality subjects. Nevertheless, it is important to acknowledge the downsides of this trend. Firstly, students may face several difficulties in re-entering the academic life which is full of tasks and assignments. Therefore, they may feel stressed and depressed at first as the current experience is not as relaxed and enjoyable as what they had in the previous year. Later on, they may fall behind their peers. Another drawback is related to costs. To be more specific, one year of travelling is quite cost-consuming, including transportation costs, accommodation and food and so on. It is true that when students go travelling or do some temporary jobs, they might not be able to have a stable income. As a result, they cannot support financial themselves which in turn can lead to incurred debts. In conclusion, the topic of whether to take a gap year after finishing high school to work and travel is a matter of personal preference. While taking a gap year provides students with opportunities for self-discovery and the necessary skills and knowledge which are useful for their further education and future careers, this approach can hinder them from coming back to school. Consequently, it is advisable that students should consider carefully before deciding if they delay their studies or not.