Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern society, wealthy nations often provide financial aid to underdeveloped ones, but some people argue that it is better to give poor countries a more practical kind of support. I totally agree with this point of view. On the one hand, the financial assistance may not reach the intended receivers. The main reason is that it can be misused by corrupt government officials, who use this money for their own sake. As a result, many poor people who are in need receive little or no assistance at all. For instance, some African authorities were supported by a large amount of financial aid from developing countries and they extorted it, which resulted in residents in their countries having to experience starvation and diseases. On the other hand, instead of donating money, it is better to invest in the education and healthcare systems of poorer nations. A more practical method to offer help is to build more education facilities and provide more resources such as textbooks and school supplies. This is mainly because a lack of education is one of the major reasons why so many people in underdeveloped countries get stuck in a vicious cycle of extreme poverty. Another effective way is that wealthy countries can support medical facilities for the poor. The main reason is that there is a fast spread of disease in poor nations and the residents have to face a lack of medical supplies. Thus, with an improved healthcare system, life quality in these countries can be enhanced, which can possibly contribute to the development of the economy. In conclusion, I completely agree with the opinion that financial aid cannot tackle the problem of poverty in underdeveloped countries. Instead of pouring billions of dollars into the governments, developed nations should have more practical support such as providing medical facilities and enhancing poor nations education.