Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Due to the advancement in technology, many people are choosing to work from home and teachers started to teach students online in the comfort of their houses. I am of the opinion that this is a negative development as human productivity can fall in a comfortable environment. Firstly, working from home can prove to be ineffective. That is to say, the home environment can be too comfortable and at times, distracting if there are a lot of family members living together. This can lead to a decline in one's performance. However, working at a professional office setup not only can be focussed but also might improve relations with colleagues and promote team building. For example, being forced to adapt to work from home during the COVID-19 lockdown, companies witnessed a rise in productivity and in turn, the economy once the lockdown restrictions were lifted. Hence, the ' work from home ' concept might not be the best choice in terms of overall efficiency. Furthermore, students tend to learn more from their teachers and friends at school than from their parents. Educational institutions provide a constructive place to learn and grow and this can impact the cognitive development of a child. Visual learning, which is interactive and fun can nurture the child's overall growth. Children also tend to make many friends and participate in extra-curricular activities and school events which can prove to be invaluable experiences in one's life. For instance, students who graduated before 2019 were significantly smarter than those who graduated between 2019 and 2021 because of the coronavirus pandemic. To conclude, although technology gives us the option to work or study from the comfort of our own homes, I believe that working and studying in the designated environments will invariably increase the quality of our outcomes and gift us with real-life experience.