Some peole believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Traditional culture is one of the most necessary things in each country. So people always raise questions about protecting and developing it. They believe that culture will be destroyed by tourism. While others are inclined to think that the things tourism can do is help preserve those traditions. This essay will discuss both views and will give the writer’s opinion of the latter idea. It can be easily seen that many traditions are modified for commercialization. In Campuchia, the construction of large hotels near the edge of Angkor Wat has a substantial water table beneath the tempers. Moreover, during the peak season, the massive influx of tourists from many places damages cultural heritage sites irreversibly. When visiting some monuments or statues, some tourists carve their names on rocks for memories. It will vandalise ancient monuments as well as cause irreparable damage. In contrast, the increase in visitor numbers can create sufficient for local communities to support conservation and protection. When selling souvenirs for visitors, that money can be invested back in prevention and encourage the revival of traditions or heritage sites. A clear example in Vietnam is that people at Bat Trang sell ceramic products to continue their tradition. Therefore, it will support the local handicrafts and promote cultural values. From my perspective, I believe the tourism revenue plays a crucial part in protection and improvement which encourages inhabitants and the governments to upgrade as well as preserve that heritage and culture. To sum up, both sides have their own positive and negative views. However, I strongly believe that the value of tourism can contribute to and promote the development of civilization.