Many jobs that are done by people are now done by machines and computers. Some people that this is a positive development while others feel this is a negative for society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The modern world is witnessing the rapid growth of artificial intelligence. Many employers are opting to rely on machines than humans and this is causing a divide in opinion amongst the public. Some argue this is for the good while many claim otherwise. The following essay will highlight the reasons for both views and provide my personal opinion at the end. To begin with, machines are an incredible invention. There is no doubt that they are superior to humans on some levels. For instance, a robot will never become tired, upset or biased with any emotions. Unlike humans, machines do not understand the concept of 'feelings' and as a result will only perform the way they will be programmed to do so - typically, without any errors. These qualities may prove to be fundamental for some employers for obvious reasons. On the other hand, there are major criticisms of using artificial intelligence over humans at a professional level. These include for example, fewer job opportunities and less annual income than usual which may lead to further complications in the standard of living. Besides, the lack of social interactions with humans will be harmful to society if robots are given more priority. As a result, humans will be more likely to suffer the negative consequences. To conclude, there are excellent reasons as to why employers may be choosing to work with machines over humans but I think that humans have much more to offer instead. It is true that they are capable of doing work faster and more efficiently than humans but only to a limited extent. Machines only work with what humans train them to do, thus they do not have the capacity to think independently. Yet, humans are what created them in the first place, so they must not be forgotten over their creation.