In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantage and disadvatges of this situation and give your own opinion.

Development in technology and higher life quality prompt incremental life expectancy in many regions around the world. Whilst phenomena as such derive various merits, I personally believe that the downsides caused by it should not be overlooked since they could cause financial burdens to societies as well as negative impacts on medical systems. On the bright side, expecting to have a longer life span could prompt the younger generation to cultivate the habit of saving as the preparation for their retirement, along with it willing to purchase property to secure the quality of their later life. Those behaviours could deter them from facing financial crises in the future. On top of that, a large number of elderly residents stimulate the market to provide better services and more options to satisfy different needs. For instance, instead of nursing homes, pensioners could choose to move into retired villages enabling them to live independently with healthcare workers on standby the whole time to ensure their safety. On the other hand, in my perspective, there are some drawbacks provoked by the number of elderly population growing in size that could cause negative effects in societies. First of all, governments need to invest more money in pension systems due to a longer average lifespan, leading to a financial burden. Take Taiwan as an example, the local pension system is facing a financial deficit which will have a negative impact on the younger generation. Secondly, many elderly people have chronic diseases that require long-term treatment,and a growing demand for medical sources could cause a shortage of healthcare workers, along with medicine. Many countries around the world struggling with poor medical systems due to such situations. To summarize, it is inevitable that the increase in life expectancy will continue in the future, even though it could prompt many advantages, I personally believe that the disadvantages should be taken seriously by governments for various possible negative effects to societies.