Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Lately, many people of all age groups are faced with sleepless nights. I unequivocally believe that the use of technological gadgets, such as mobile phones and laptops, before heading to bed is a major contributor to this problem. Hence, reducing screen time and sticking to a strict sleeping schedule could help. In recent times, the public has become very involved with social media such as Instagram, Facebook etc. In order to catch up with the current news and trends, many spend hours scrolling through these apps. When this is done before sleeping, the melatonin levels are reduced due to the blue light emitted by these gadgets. Subsequently, the brain is made to think that it's daylight and sleep is delayed. For instance, in a recent study conducted by the University of Texas, 70% of the population in the USA use phones, for at least 45 minutes before heading to bed, which has caused sleepless nights for many. Therefore, reducing screen time, at least 1 hour before sleeping is a necessity in order to get REM sleep. Additionally, it is scientifically proven that sleeping at a particular time for 20 days continuously would induce sleep at the same time in the following days. This is because such practices help tune our biological clock in a certain way. For instance, a study done by the University of Delhi with 50 subjects suffering from insomnia proved that heading to bed at 9 pm everyday was the best time to get proper sleep. Even pushing the time by little could change the sleep cycle. In conclusion, the addiction to social media has caused many to lose sleep. In order to get proper 7-hour sleep, individuals must reduce the use of phones before bed. Moreover,one must work towards tuning one's biological clock in order to induce sleep at a particular time every night.