In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that governments should levy a higher tariff on junk food because the number of health risks associated with this type of food is rising. This essay agrees that a higher tax should be paid by the fast food companies. Firstly more expensive prices would stop people from consuming fast food. Secondly, the raised money could be used to improve public health. Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. Fast foodstuff companies would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices, leading to people not being able to afford junk food as it has become too pricey. Therefore, fast food would soon become a luxurious item and it would only be consumed occasionally. As a consequence, it would be less harmful to the general public’s strength. For example, the cost of organic food is the main reason why only a small percentage of the population can purchase it regularly. Free medical clinics can be opened up and equipped where patients who are suffering from diseases associated with fast food can receive free service. Moreover, The payment can be used to run campaigns warning public about the dangers of fast food abuse. The UK is a prime example where money from fast food goers is used to treat stomach cancer while at the same time it is pumped into health campaigns in schools warning students about fast food ramifications. In conclusion, fast food should be taxed at a higher rate because of the fact that increased cost should reduce the amount of junk food people buy and the general community’s well-being can benefit from this money. It is therefore recommended that authorities make this notion their first priority.