More and more plastic waste has polluted cities, the countryside and oceans. What problems does it cause and what measures can be taken?

Pollution by plastic waste is an issue worldwide with impact on many ecosystems and people. In the remainder of this essay some environmental and health concerns with plastic rubbish will be explored as well how it could be solved. One important point of plastic pollution is in relation to water ecosystems. Firstly, millions of plastic tons are sent to water bodies every year with negative impacts for animals in these ecosystems. What is more, environmental degradation of water ecosystems should be at risk for the supply of water for people worldwide. For instance, in 2021 various research studies showed microplastic in water around the world and scientists argue that this phenomenon could be a risk for human health. Clearly, degradation of water quality because the incorrect disposition of this kind of residue is a critical issue for ecosystems and people. In order to reduce the plastic pollution on the environment is crucial that governments and individuals take actions. To begin with, governments need to increase the regulations to encourage the use of alternative packaging, including glass bottles and glass jars. Also, citizens can take measures to pressure companies to use alternatives packaging through avoiding buying products packaging in the traditional way. For example, Coca-cola is a global product that used glass bottles for many years and nowadays, it mainly uses plastic bottles. Customers may change this if they take the decision to avoid plastic bottles. So, Actions of governments and customers together perhaps reduce the number of plastic packaging in the market. To summarize, plastic waste has the potential to cause damage to ecosystems and human life. Law regulation and major interest by customers could bring a positive effect to reduce plastic waste.