In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

It is argued that many adults use more than half of a day to deal with works at companies. Certainly, there are a range of reasons and personally, I think it has more detrimental impacts than benefits. There are many factors that directly influence on spending a lot of times on works. Firstly, in order to adapt with high standard of developing world, many staffs have to work a lot to earn a living. High standard of living also means that there is a variety of issues in daily life such as money, bills, food. Secondly, workers who want to have a promotion need to work so hard to achieve their goal. With a load of pressure on their shoulder, they hardly have times to take care of themselves. Although working hard means that workers will have better income and may get a promotion, they will have to suffer from disadvantages. If people are working non-stop, they will end up torturing themselves. Staff will not have times to take care of their own health and recharge their batteries which is definitely an unhealthy lifestyle. Moreover, they will not spend their time with their beloved ones. This will create distance to family members, friends and other relationships. In conclusion, life pressure and ambition to get a promotion are forcing people to do more and more works and it is certainly an adverse development