In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the field of urban planning, there are some opinions towards the arrangement of malls, schools, working spaces and residential spaces separated and in specific areas. This arrangement has both pros and cons but the advantages can outweigh the inconveniences. Keeping areas with specific functions separated could bring many benefits in terms of traffic congestion and safety. When shops, offices, schools and homes are separated, people are less likely to spend much time travelling and finding where they need to go. This can improve traffic jams and improve air quality. Moreover, if these landmarks are in different locations, safety can be increased. Take traffic in fully residential areas as an example, it is easier to promote bicycle-friendly neighbourhoods and create a safe pedestrian environment. It can be seen that the planning of specific spaces can yield good results in more friendly and safe living areas. The isolation of living space from shopping centres, schools and offices can have many inconveniences regarding the time spent travelling and access to services. If homes are located too far from shops or hospitals, this could increase the time of commuting and furthermore, could make the access to medical services more challenging. But with smart planning of the residential area to address the needs of the citizens, these inconveniences could be resolved easily. In conclusion, the initiative to keep places separated and categorized into functions like schools, homes, shopping areas and working areas has some minor disadvantages, but can be resolved with proper planning and bring more benefits for people living, working and using services in separated locations.