Some children spend hours every day on thier smartphone.

Smartphones are really important devices for everyone of all ages and seems like many children spend long hours of their time on phones nowadays. In this,essay I will explain why children are doing this and I will discuss why I think it is a negative trend. One of the reasons why children nowadays spend long hours on their smartphones is that parents do not have time for their offspring since they are busy with their work, hobbies and chores at home, so they allow their young ones to play games or social media to be able to draw their attention and do not disturb them while they are working or cleaning at home. For example, according to research conducted by Bangkok University, 80% of modern families have only one child and a child does not have any siblings to play with, so they even play alone or just spend their time browsing online. If children have someone to play with, they will reduce their screen time. This is a negative development because activities on smartphones or modern technology will make children addicted to online content and games, so they will have inactive personalities and do not want to have physical exercise which can cause them to have trouble in physical health like obesity or heart problems. For instance, in a survey conducted by Bangkok Hospital in 2021, 70% of young patients aged 10-15 years old, who have health issues, gave information about their hobbies as browsing the internet and playing online games. The more children spend their time in active activity, the healthier they will be. In conclusion, it is true that smart devices are used by children for long hours each day because their parents do not have time to spend with them on other activities and I think it is a negative development because it could make them inactive and can cause health problems.