In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In this advancing world, we have been seeing lots of technological developments, among which a driverless car has caught everyone’s attention. Sooner or later there will be more vehicles on the road with just passengers. I think this will bring positive as well as negative effects on the users and the environment as well. I include environment because, in place of a driver we can accommodate one more passenger saving energy by carrying just passengers. In addition, it reduces labour shortages in places like Australia and the USA, as we see some shortages of manpower at times. Moreover, with such technological advancement, we can reduce the risk of losing the lives of precious people at times of an accident, where goods carrier trucks frequently meet with an accident. When it is run by the system it becomes more systematic and there will be fewer man-induced accidents. On the other hand, when such changes come on the roads, acceptance of the change by society will be challenging. People will not trust such vehicles; in turn, the company may lose customers. Even though if the development runs on the way there are other human values to be looked at. For instance, drivers who were driving now have to be compulsorily resigned, so where will they go when these driverless cars come on the road. It will be difficult for them to get another job; therefore unemployment rate will rise higher. In a nutshell, with such technological innovation, the acceptance level of society has to be higher and bear the changes that come along. It is better to look into other alternatives to overcome related issues.