Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in a world where technology each year gains more attention, the number of children playing video games significantly rises too. This is because games provide children an escape and an opportunity to relax, however, I believe it negatively impacts youngsters' lives by contributing to the growth in their procrastination which leads to possible degradation. Many teenagers choose to spend their days playing video games because of what they offer: an escape. Games are capable of immersing a player in the plot for days, or months even, therefore, a lot of people prefer a virtual world, rather than a real one. This way people can actively avoid all outside obligations, and worries, and lead a completely different life. According to research, that was done among gamers, these days, there is an increasing number of cases where active players lose touch with reality, furthermore, they are ready to spend all their savings on virtual purchases. However, I think computer games are a danger to society that can bring a person to degradation. While some people can balance between their life and time spent playing, others find it challenging and in the end, prefer to engage in the latter more. Following this, the level of procrastination starts to rise and other matters outside a virtual reality lose their significance, which affects a person's intelligence capabilities. For instance, nowadays many teenagers prefer to stay up all night playing computer games, and as a result, the next morning they struggle to comprehend any material during school hours. Consequently, they later can not complete their homework because of the lack of sleep which deprives them to understand the material that was taught in school. In conclusion, a lot of children prefer engaging in computer games because they offer a reprieve from the world and relax them, however, I disagree that it can not negatively influence one's lifestyle, being as the person has a risk of losing touch with reality and the abilities to think rationally.