Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, it can be argued that crime reduction can be achieved if prisoners serve longer sentences. Despite this, there are others that claim the opposite. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both views as well as to point out why serving a heavier sentence is no longer considered to be effective. On the one hand, there are plenty of types of sentencing and each one has its purpose. First and foremost, the one that is thought to be suitable for this situation is deterrence. To explain this, the aim of deterrence is to make sure that the defendant will not re-offend or prevent others from committing an unlawful act. For instance, a judge might order a heavy fine or a long sentence in order to deter others. As an outcome, individuals will think twice before they commit an offence, so criminality rates will be dropped. On the other hand, alternative types of sentencing can be taken into account as well. To begin with, rehabilitation and reform are thought to be the most functional. In other words, these methods give the opportunity to the individual to consider his behaviour and work with himself. For example, various young offenders have benefited from this as they have the chance to be part of society again.As an impact, if we educate offenders, especially from a young age, and try to reform them in the world again, the issue of criminality will be tackled effectively. To sum up, by taking all the aforementioned arguments into deep thought it is apparent that high crime rates are a problem that the criminal justice system needs to fight. It is my strongest belief that the pros of rehabilitation outweigh the results that deterrence can provide.