In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is encouraged in some cultures to convince their children that they can reach their desired level of success if they commit to anything as much as they can. This approach creates resilient individuals in society, but it can decrease the child-like spirit in some. Working hard is a virtue that is admired in adulthood and in the workspace, where the brightest individuals who can further the efficiency of a company are readily sought after. Therefore, a culture that convinces the younger generations to strive for success and achieve the goals that they set for themselves will do much better at the individual level. For example, reformations of the educational institutions in some foreign countries, such as China, have allowed them to compete their economy with those around the world. Moreover, Chinese students have become some of the most intelligent and actively employed people in many sectors and fields of work. Thus, the mindset given to them at a young age has allowed for greater levels of rewards in later life. Conversely, there are downsides to this since driving children to work hard and focus entirely on merit can dwindle their natural development. This is emphasised by the effects that are perceived on Olympic athletes who began their training in their youth. For instance, it has been gathered that most of these types of performers do not go on to lead healthy lives and have high levels of adulthood issues, such as unemployment and dissatisfaction with failure. This is mostly because of the increased amount of drive that they have placed on their careers. As a result, they become less healthy and unable to deal with emotional issues. In conclusion, children can be taught and influenced by the lesson of working to create success to satisfy their desires, but one should be aware of the long-term effects whilst considering the benefits this has.