Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many healthy problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

High levels of sugar are contained in many manufactured food and drink products, which results in various health problems. Some people claim that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage others to consume less sugar. While acknowledging the reasons behind this thinking, I would argue that this is not the most effective solution. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate raising sugary products prices to reduce the need for them. The key rationale is that when sugary products are more costly than other healthy food and drinks such as vegetables, fruits or milk, the crowd will be more likely to buy those that have a more reasonable cost and are apparently better for their health. However, this thinking is flawed as unhealthy food is often tastier than healthy ones. Humans will not hesitate to spend a large amount of money to enjoy scrumptious food, especially sweets. On the other hand, I am of the belief that there are many other viable methods to motivate the community to consume nutritious food and drink. Rather than increase the price of products that contain too much sugar, the authority can propagate the harm of consuming an exorbitant amount of sugar, or promote healthy but delicious diets for the population. In this way, citizens will have an interest in trying out different clean-eating meal plans while still maintaining their sugar intake at a safe level. Moreover, sports competitions should also be held frequently to improve people's physical health and prevent health issues. In conclusion, although there are justifications for increasing sugary products cost, I would contend that this is not the best measure to motivate others to consume less sugar and to mitigate health problems and some feasible ways could be done by the government.