some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters(such as food, clothes and entertainment ) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think of their own whishes .Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them.Discuss both these view and give your own opinion

There are differing opinions regarding the choices made by children. One group is of the view that when kids are left to make their own decisions they will be selfish whilst others say it is important for children to choose what relates to them. This essay will discuss both opinions. I will give my opinion in the course of my essay. To begin with, food choices and entertainment are very personal. What one person may enjoy, another may not. Everyone is different in terms of their genetic makeup. For instance, some people are allergic to some meals whilst others are not. This happens even among family members. Also what may taste nice to one person may not to the other. To illustrate this,I do not like fish but all my other siblings do. Therefore, I think for something as basic as food, kids should be allowed to make their choice based on what they enjoy and like. For entertainment, one cannot be forced to enjoy a particular television program or a type of music. It is a desire that develops naturally over time.So, children should be left to discover what they love and go with it. In view of the above points stated, I do not see how being allowed to make very personal life decisions can generate selfishness in an individual and do not agree with the group that thinks so. However, there are very significant decisions in life like education and clothes I will say parents should exert some control. Children have the minds of kids, thus they may not know the consequences of their choices at a particular point in time and will hence require parental guidance. For example, a child who decides to stop schooling because of corporal punishment meted to him or her by a teacher may only be talking from current emotions. Meanwhile, in the long run, this child may lose the opportunity to acquire a white-collar job because of a childish decision made. Also, a female child who constantly wears very indecent clothes may only be preyed on by rapists and the outcome obviously would be deleterious. This can be prevented by an adult teaching their children how to dress. It is clear, there are some instances in our caretakers must definitely have a say in our choices based on their level of maturity compared to children and I think this should be the case. To sum up, I am of the view that kids should be left to make some basic life choices like what to eat and this does not in any way affect an external person whilst parents should guide their wards in very serious life path like education and how to dress as the outcome of not choosing the right path in these aspects will irreversibly ruin the future of the child.