Many people believe that social networking sites have huge negative effects on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although social media has simplified our lives greatly, it has a detrimental impact on one's and community's connectivity. I believe that social media is a double-edged weapon if we use it wisely. Through this essay, I will explain thoroughly how social media has affected society as well as a method on how to overcome it. Meanwhile, social networking evolution has shortened the distance between us, where we are able to connect with anyone, anywhere at any time, especially during the era of COVID-19, it facilitated connection during this hard time. In addition, it introduced to the different jobs the option of virtual and hybrid models, which now is very well utilized after the pandemic issue has been resolved. Moreover, it has introduced internet influencers, in which some of them share beneficial content. Unfortunately, it has a dark side, where it plays a pivotal role in destroying society's connection as well as people's communication skills. For instance, we can find people in a family gathering, scrolling down over their mobile phones and don't have a real conversation. Furthermore, some of the internet bloggers have been abusing their followers through sharing wrong information. Accordingly, I believe that if we reflected some restrictive actions from our side to limit the abuse of these platforms, we might be able to avoid their negative impact and vitalize our society's connectivity once again. In conclusion, these platforms have many benefits but their disadvantages outweigh their advantages. Therefore, overuse of these platforms has affected all of us and we should limit their usage if we wish to fix the damage that happened in our community.