It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to?

Kids tend to commit mistakes very often, and it is necessary to teach them the understanding of the distinction between good and bad at an appropriate age. Not only a normal discussion on correct and incorrect things but also some types of disciplinary actions are needed on time while handling the different situations with children. In my point of view, punishments are a good way to bring discipline out of students. However, a rigid punishment is not necessary most of the time, parents or teachers could think of soft but impactful penalties for their youngsters. To begin with, penalising young people, to make them aware of the difference between right and wrong at an early age, is a part of progressive character development. Additionally, with punishment, they could learn to admit their mistakes or misdeeds which is a wonderful behavioural skill. Often, children never forget the ways they had been scolded for their inappropriate doings and furthermore, they try to avoid a similar mistake in future. For instance, when I was in school, we all were scolded by our teacher for bunking the class to play cricket, and after this incident, I never bunked classes anymore. Although punishing the kids could impact positively on their bad habits, there should be certain patterns to follow while disciplining the children from different age groups. Parents as well as professors could start treating them differently against their good or bad practices. Appreciating youngsters for their nice work is a welcomed gesture whereas, escalating their misdeeds is also an important practice. For example, teaching toddlers through discussion, scolding students by assigning some tasks, and forcing juveniles for community work are considered good policies that help to learn correct and incorrect acts. To conclude, kids are the future of the world, and we should put some effort into making them aware of right and wrong at their correct stage of life. However, some sort of disciplinary actions are much needed because only a discussion may not work every time against some unwanted acts by our young individual.