Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and violent crimes increases. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the death penalty is essential for wrongdoers because ordinary people find co-existence with criminals impossible, although, others claim that severe punishment is not justified. Personally, I think that everyone has a second chance, thus, criminals should not be sentenced to death. Firstly, we live in the twenty-first century, where any kind of murder is prohibited by the majority of countries due to a humanitarian attitude towards all citizens, regardless of whether they are offenders or not. In other words, I believe that there are miscellaneous ways in which criminals may be punished instead of killed and these penalties should be done according to the severity of the crime that someone has committed. For instance, convicts who committed major crimes could be penalised by imprisonment for their whole life. Consequently, they would analyse their actions and behaviours and would become aware of the harm they caused to society. Secondly, not every offender breaks a certain law deliberately because there are some individuals with psychiatric disorders and they are not capable of controlling themselves. Therefore, these humans have to be sent to special centres, where they are able to get imperative medical treatment while being isolated from other patients. Nevertheless, concerning those who committed a crime on purpose, such strict measures as the death penalty should not be taken. For example, special programs should be implemented in order to help them reintegrate into society. Hence, with appropriate guidance offenders would not become recidivists and would do their best to make their own values and beliefs and be accepted by ordinary people. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the opinion, that states that every convict should serve capital punishment, however, other kinds of penalties should not be avoided because there is a huge chance of becoming recidivists if proper actions are neglected.