Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together, while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Recently, the world is technologically advancing at a really fast pace. The power of the internet has made many activities possible. While some say that the internet has made human connections stronger, others believe it has isolated people and communities. I unequivocally side with the former opinion because although face-to-face interactions have reduced, the internet helps people connect with others from all around the world. On the one hand, the discovery of the web and other apps such as Skype have helped people keep in touch with others living far away. One doesn't need to travel miles to see them or talk to them. For example, my relationship with my best friend who lives in the US has been stronger than ever due to the internet. Furthermore, the internet brought people closer during the COVID pandemic when physical interaction wasn't an option. On the other hand, the increased use of the internet has made many antisocial. People are choosing to live in an imaginary online world rather than the real world. As a result, the ability to form real life connections and communicate healthily with one another is lost. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Texas published that 60% of the US population would rather connect with their friends and family online, than meet them in person. To conclude, the internet can be a boon when utilized the right way, but it can also be a bane when misused. Although seeing many get addicted to the online world is a major concern, the internet makes life easier in other aspects. For example, it helps with long-distance relationships. Similarly, the internet is the sole reason why people could still remain connected with each other during times like the covid pandemic.