Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Research has shown that socialising online is being preferred by youngsters more than meeting in person in recent times. I believe this can be due to the ease of access to social media and this situation can be reversed by increasing outdoor recreational events which allow young adults to socialise offline. Most teenagers these days are technology addicts. That is, to say almost all of them have a mobile phone which has access to high-speed internet. While social media applications have become ubiquitous, this is mitigating the need for people to go outside and socialise as everything is available at their fingertips. Applications such as Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter etc. allow the public to share opinions and have discussions amongst themselves in the comfort of their own homes. For instance, Reddit is a website where people from all over the world can ask for suggestions, answer questions, and share their feelings and innermost secrets whilst being anonymous. Thus, teenagers are refusing to leave their comfort zone when the internet is making everything simpler. However, it is important for the growing population to spend some time away from gadgets once in a while to take a stroll outside in a park and get some fresh air in order to be healthier. Additionally, this can be reinforced by promoting outdoor recreational activities which can allow youngsters to participate as teams. Several such teams tend to gather at such places, promoting socialisation and bonding amongst one another. This can result in creative satisfaction in each person in addition to making socialising interesting and fun. For example, a certain group of restaurants in India is starting an event called 'Sip and Paint' on Sundays for brunch where people eat and paint together at the same time. This can make use of holidays better. In conclusion, although an ever-increasing young population is spending quality time online, I would argue that outdoor extra-curricular activities combined with aspects of socialisation can work to attract more teenagers outside and away from technology.