Universities should take the same number of man and women in each major. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In order to achieve gender equality in universities, some argue that there should be an equal amount of male and female students in each major. However, I disagree with the statement as it may result in unfair decisions to meet the gender requirements and universities should consider the academic abilities of the candidates more instead of the gender. To begin with, the admission board may have unfair policies for different genders when considering the applicants. If a subject normally attracts more male applicants than females, the university may need to intentionally give disadvantages to male students. For example, male students who meet the requirements may not be able to get in just because there are too many boys. Providing these unfair exceptions will without a doubt affect the university's reputation. Moreover, academic abilities should be the sole reason for a student being able to enrol in the programme. If a female student who cannot meet the requirement still gets in to satisfy the absolute gender equality, the course content might be too difficult for her. She may fail the course at the end, and even have to drop out of the course. This will do no good for the student and even harm her as years will be wasted. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that the number of male and female students in an university programme should to be the same, as it will result in unfair decisions by the admission board and universities should consider academic abilities only.