It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

The competition between small shops and department stores versus online markets is getting hard. This can affect people's lives in many orders, so local communities and governments should take steps to tackle this problem. Shopping online has been getting popular in the past decade, so many individuals prefer to buy their needs from the comfort of their homes. Moreover, a plethora of people prefer the various products that supermarkets offer them; therefore this causes less insight toward small shops. Consequently, as people purchase more from bigger industries, the expenses make more local shops getting closed which has numerous effects, such as travelling long distances to reach bigger markets, traffic congestion and air pollution. For instance, a recent study in England compared the air quality of an area by measurement of CO2 level, before and after constructing a large market, and it dramatically deteriorated after construction by 40%. Many things should be done to answer this problem. Local communities and citizens can support small shops by buying more from them. This also has a couple of health benefits for them as they usually walk to reach those shops, like better heart and lung condition. Furthermore, governments ought to give a number of opportunities to these businesses, such as mortgages with better conditions, in consequence, they can improve their situation by renovating and paying for advertisements. In conclusion, although it is difficult for petite businesses to compete with shopping centres and online markets, individuals and governments can resolve this issue together.