Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Being a good member of society can mean different things to different people. This since, there is no strict definition of a ‘good member of society ‘ and some might have higher or lower standards of the same for a number of reasons. Children tend to pick up and learn concepts extremely fast and for the primitive years of their lives, their parents are the ones teaching them basic life skills all the way from talking and walking to eating. Some of these are not physically ‘taught’ per say but rather, picked up by copying or mirroring their parents. Hence, parents might not have to literally teach their children how to be nice, good members of society but rather, be admirable people themselves which shows children that, it’s just a normal decent thing to be ‘good members of society ’ and they don’t have to put in effort or have it be an inconvenience thinking about how to be good. On the contrary, children will be children and hence they might take time and effort understanding the difference between good and bad and why that is the case. All parents might not have the time and energy to always be correcting their children which leads to the thought of school. After a certain age, all children spend the majority of their days in school surrounded by students similar to them. This is when parents cannot control and correct everything they do. This is when some people believe that school is the place in which children should be thought to be good members of society. Being surrounded by a lot of people would be a good opportunity to teach the children how to act in functioning society which would of course be different to if they were in their own homes in familiar situations. Overall, in my opinion, I think that being a good member of society should not just be taught but rather integrated in children ’s lives both in school and at home. It is important not to isolate school and home to different behaviours and terms of what is acceptable as, being a good member of society has to stem from inside. To be a good member it is not only about what happens in the outside world but also behind closed doors. Teaching in both places would help them understand the importance of it and how it impacts others lives as well as their own.