Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world, cars have become an indispensable means in our lives; consequently, the rate of traffic accidents has increased to reach critical levels; hence, some people argue that we have to impose strict punishments on driving offences, meanwhile, others think that we should follow another approach to solve this problem. This essay will discuss both points of view and argue in favour of the former. To begin with, the numerous rates of accidents can be attributed to one main factor, which is the driver's behaviour. To illustrate, some folks find that, it is fine to break the rules in order to reach my destination, as long as it fulfils my desire; therefore, they really do not care about other people's lives, especially, when the consequences are affordable. Based on that, I firmly believe that the government have to maximize the punishments, thereby, this will be a deterrent solution for this type of mind. Moreover, another group raised the flag of enhancing the measures to improve road safety. For instance, restructure the existing highway and make it wider, or enhance the overall infrastructure of city roads. Also, adding more traffic lights to minimize the speed, and many other solutions. In my opinion, although this flag seems logical, it will not fix the problem from its roots, as it tries to control people's behaviour, rather than changing it. To conclude, nowadays traffic accidents have become a real dilemma, and the government must handle them with high priority; accordingly, I believe that a new road policy should be enacted by the authorities ensuring the maximum punishment for anyone who breaks it in order to save citizen's life.