36.Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some contend that despite the availability of translation software, acquiring a language could be generally more favourable. Personally, I am inclined to agree with this notion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that translation tools reduce the communication barriers between individuals regardless of their linguistic backgrounds. For example, Google Translate, one of the most popular translation applications, are able to generate high-quality translations thanks to its advancements in complex linguistic algorithms. Therefore, people who now travel overseas can have basic conversations with local people by simply installing this application on their smartphones. Before the invention of these tools, travellers had to participate in some short-term language courses prior to the travelling date or hire a tour guide who had good language skills. This could consume a lot of time and money. Thus, the introduction of translation software is a nature of great help. On the other hand, I do believe that acquiring a new language can bring numerous benefits to humans. Firstly, they are exposed to new and diverse cultures. As language is a defining characteristic of a nation's culture, learners can subsequently acquire a better understanding of how citizens of different countries communicate with others and how their society functions culturally. This exposure may foster cultural awareness and tolerance of people, preparing them for the interconnected and culturally diverse worth. Secondly, learning foreign a language can offer better employment prospects. To be more specific, it has been observed that employers nowadays choose qualified candidates not only based on their academic performance but also their language skills. This recruitment criteria indicates that individuals who can speak more than one language can have more advantage in the highly competitive human capital market. In conclusion, while translation applications can improve communication between individuals to a certain extent, I firmly assert that learning a foreign language could be advantageous because it not only enriches learners' understanding of diverse cultures but also provides them with better job opportunities.