Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that most manufactured food and beverage items consist of large amounts of sugar contains that trigger various health-related issues to humans. One of the ways to decrease sugary intake is to increase the price of these products. I agree with this opinion and the forthcoming essay will elaborate clearly. Firstly, apart from all age groups, everyone likes to eat sweet snacks and beverages in day-to-day life. Furthermore, the amount of intake is directly proportional to the number of diseases that anyone can get. One way of sorting out this is issue is to increase the price and tax of these products so that the public will eventually tend to buy less and less. For example, the Ministry of Health Sri Lanka has announced that, in 2023, the number of smokers decreased drastically as the government imposed more tariffs on smoking products. Secondly, the World Health Organization reported that, three out of five persons are suffering from diabetes worldwide. It has also reported that, if a person suffers from diabetes, he or she is more likely to get other diseases such as cholesterol, loss in eye vision, heart problems, etc. Moreover, parents and adults splurge huge amounts of money to purchase these products to satisfy their children's and their desires which will eventually cost more money to cure these diseases. In conclusion, I agree with the opinion of making these sugary products expensive in order to decrease their consumption. These manufactured snacks and beverages not only cause health-related problems but also lead people to spend more money on treatment.