University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of students who decided to study overseas as part of their programme is on the rise. Although students have to face cultural and language barriers while living abroad, they will develop essential life skills which are needed in their future careers. In my view, studying abroad will provide more benefits to students. There are two main drawbacks of studying abroad which are cultural and language challenges. Some people find themselves experiencing culture shock after living in completely different cultures. While they facing those issues, they also have to overcome communication barriers with different languages. As a result, They can lead to tremendous stress for students and some might not be able to finish their degrees. For example, one of my friends went to study in India last year. She suffered from culture shock since she came from an Asian family. She could not communicate with her friends fluently, and she had no one to ventilate. Finally, she cancelled the degree and flew back to Thailand. However, those struggles are the crucial factors pushing individuals beyond their limits. Consequently, Many students grow out of their comfort zone. They are able to live on their own such as doing laundry, cooking, and managing budget. They will also develop life-essential skills, including problem-solving, negotiation, and critical thinking. In conclusion, the trend of studying overseas among college students is increasing over time. Even though living abroad comes with many difficulties, young people get valuable experiences. As a result, those challenges become more advantages to them.