Is learning to speak a foreign language as important these days as it was in the past? Write an essay giving your opinion.

Nowadays, we can see that in a country, there are more than just a single or two native languages such as Hong Kong or Singapore. So, many people suggest that we should learn and know more than just the native one that we were born with. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement and here are the reasons. Firstly, being bilingual gives you a lot of opportunities. In the past, kids or adults did not have these many opportunities as many as today such as studying abroad. For example, for Thai people, learning English as a foreign language gives you a chance to be able to study abroad for a master’s degree since, in order to apply to a university, you have to pass an English test. Moreover, not only for education, if you are working, a second language also gives you more chances to be promoted to a higher position than before. So, the more languages you know, the more chances you get. Secondly, knowing other languages like English or Chinese can help you survive many situations. For instance, when you go to other countries which are completely not related to your homeland, if you can speak English or the native one of that country, you can not be tricked or frauded by anyone because people, today, cannot be trusted as before. To sum up, it is very important to speak or know a foreign language as it could provide more opportunities in your life and can help you to survive any bad situation, if you go to other countries.