Television as powerful educational tool or mindless entertainment ? What extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people argue that watching television might be a waste of time while others believe that it can act as an educational medium. I agree with the latter opinion as it is a medium owned by almost everyone and has a wider reach in the public. Firstly, it has immense power as a medium to educate and inspire young minds. Science shows are aired these days, which demonstrate fun and interesting experiments to captivate children. Experiments like “potato clock” intrigue and motivate the younger generation to take up science as their major in college. Art shows also play a similar role in which they teach kids to make beautiful art like origami at home. For instance, a TV show called “The Big Bang Theory” aired worldwide, has motivated lots of middle school children to take science subjects such as physics, biology etc. at college. Furthermore, cartoon shows appeal to both children and adults. The various colours, moral stories and music can be enjoyable for infants. With parents working long shifts, this can help keep company and entertain the baby. Also, adults watch certain animated movies as they contain powerful messages to the world. In the olden days, cartoons were used to broadcast and discuss the more important issues of the world in a very subtle way. For example, “Simpsons” is a popular cartoon which illustrates world politics in a humorous manner. In conclusion, televisions have a lot more potential than we can imagine. Science experiments, art shows and cartoons with deep meaning can help in influencing society in a positive way and aid the young minds in achieving great heights.