countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, with the advent of social media, purchasing products from across the world is becoming more and more easy but also stereotypical. This essay will agree with that statement. I believe that mass production is providing homologation in a lot of countries as people desire to obtain objects belonging to a certain status. The first thing to consider is that in the past, in order to buy a product from a specific country you needed to travel there. However, even if it was expensive and time-consuming, the journey made the goods unique and diverse. Nowadays, with online shopping, mass production and websites, such as Amazon and eBay, is a lot easier to get manufactured products from the other side of the world. Whereas, it is considered by some, that technological development is increasing the quality of people's lives, because when a company produces a product in series it becomes cheaper and more accessible to each level of society. Thus, in this scenario buying a high-quality cleaning product or an excellent Hoover is a sign of a growing country. Although, there is the other side of the coin, that year by year this tendency is becoming a sign of homologation in people's personal space. Hence, the younger people wish to acquire clothes or technological items, such as smartphones or computers, in order to resemble their peers. Furthermore, this need for identification in a group of people leads the younger masses to underdevelop their personalities. In conclusion, I believe that governments and multinational companies with advertising campaigns, should encourage children and students to embrace their diversity in order to contrast social homologation. Then again, as I said before, it is crucial to level up the quality of life in families all around the world, not only in the most developed countries.