It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There is an ongoing interest in juvenile morals and ethics. It is widely argued that it is crucial for children to be able to distinguish between right and wrong at a young age, and punishing them is necessary to attain this. I strongly agree with this notion. In this essay, I will delineate the reasons for my opinion, and suggest the possible ways to punish these youngsters, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one reason why I believe that punishment is a necessity to help children know the difference between right and wrong is because the act of discipline enforces clear boundaries and consequences. That is, when a child commits a misdeed, it requires immediate punishment, which helps him to know the severity of his behaviour. By so doing, he will always relate that wrongdoing to negative consequences. This child will not grow accustomed to always having his way. For example, a child who takes a classmate’s money or books without permission should be disciplined. This way, he will learn the importance of respecting other people’s things, as well as the morals of not stealing. Furthermore, there are various approaches that parents and teachers can adopt to correct children, but the most effective way is to make them lose privileges. To buttress this, if a teenager carries out a misdeed that requires discipline, an adult should take off the privileges that matter to him. These include slashing down screen time, confiscating favourite toys, or even cancelling frequent exhilarating weekend outings. These will make him think and understand the depth of his offence and avoid it. For instance, when a second-grade boy takes his friend’s sports toy home without seeking his friend’s consent. The biggest onus is on his parents to confiscate his own toys, as well as the stolen ones to be returned to the actual owner. This clearly helps teenagers understand the gravity of their actions; more often than not, they avoid such behaviour in the future. In conclusion, with the rise in juvenile crime, I believe it is imperative to teach youngsters the difference between right and wrong at an early age. This can be achieved through punishments, such as cancelling key entitlements like screen time, playthings and outings.