Some people believe that it is more important to teach secondary/high school students literature of their own country, while others think that it is more important to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Literature is an aspect of the English language. It is a special highlight of skilful communication. The study of literature has generated some concerns. A group suggests high school students should be made to learn the literature of their own nation whilst others opine it is more significant for these students to study literature from around the globe. My essay seeks to look at both views. I will give my opinion. On the one hand, literature is an art of communication that depicts culture. For example, studying Ghanaian literature books at secondary school made me appreciate skilful writing. I developed respect for a particular writer Naa Afarley Sackeyfio whose works were exemplary. I was equipped to understand certain parts of our culture but beyond that nothing more. I was a Science student and had 8 subjects to study. Literature although a core subject, was somewhat difficult to understand. I think it was a good decision to limit the scope of our literature study to our Ghanaian culture. Hence, the work we had to do was lessened. I am of the opinion that studying the literature of your country will afford students the time to focus on the curriculum they have to cover and know it well. On the other hand, studying the literature of other countries is just a way to overwhelm students. For instance, it is common knowledge that schooling in itself is a full-time task. Students without having to do extra activity, are already occupied with a wide range of responsibilities. These stem from having to learn several subjects to complete a level. Each subject has recommended textbooks and other materials that students are required to memorise. There have been reports of pupils expressing challenges with having to read and remember so much information for different subjects some of which may actually not be of use in a person's future career. All of these are already sound packed for students to execute. In an actual sense, learning the literature of foreign countries is of no use to a person living in a different nation. Therefore, I am of the opinion that learners should not be given the additional burden of studying the literature of some foreign country. To sum up, the study of literature is important. But, I am of the opinion the scope of learning literature should focus on the country a person lives in.