Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disgree with this statement?

Government policymaking regarding public transportation has been a matter of debate in recent years. When it comes to investment, the public argues whether railways require a higher fund or roads. I reckon the authorities should put the railways first and provide them with a greater budget. The first and foremost factor is that the trains are a more efficient way of relocation than the roads. Firstly, while there is a lot of traffic congestion on the streets, they operate underground, where there is nothing in their way, which saves a lot of time for the passengers. Secondly, this system offers an affordable means of transportation to the public, who have a limited budget. In contrast, cars on the ground increase their living costs. Secondly, rail-based transportation is more environmentally friendly. If the government provides the residents with a city spotted with subway stations, they are highly likely to stay away from fossil fuel vehicles. As a result, the amount of carbon released into the atmosphere will be reduced. For instance, when you are assured that the subway fulfils your relocation's requirements including arriving on time at your destination, you are willing to stop driving. In conclusion, the government should allocate more budget to the railways rather than the roads. Not only because the public enjoys saving time and money provided by them, but also because they pave the way for the community to lead a healthier life.