Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers?

Nowadays the great majority of people support the idea that genetic engineering is very helpful for modern society, while others tend to believe that it has a detrimental impact. Although the last opinion can be right in some cases, I support the idea that genetic modification has a lot of good sides. Let's start by looking at the advantages of that trend. Firstly, many contemporary medicines are created only with the help of these genes. For example, during the last century the drug called "Insulin" was really expensive, so a lot of people could not afford it. However, with the help of science, Insulin was produced more cost-effectively and spread all over the world. Another good example of using genetic engineering is the sustainability of various types of plants. In severe regions farmers use genetically modified plants in order to give them a chance to survive. Consequently, we can rid of famine in many places of the world. Turning to the other side of the argument, many researchers have proven that if we do not pay attention to how to use genetics, in future we can face greater problems. For instance, some years ago scientists decided to release genetically modified fish into Lake Victoria. Nevertheless, the modified creatures started to destroy the natural habitat of the place. Moreover, half of the fish that originally inhabited the lake were killed by newcomers. Taking everything into consideration, I would say that genetic engineering is not so dangerous itself, but it depends on how we use it. There will be more benefits, If we use it carefully.