Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, digital currencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum are in widespread use. While this trend can be seen in a negative light in some respects, I believe the growing use of online currencies is, for the most part, a change for the better. It can be argued that the growing popularity of online currencies is unfavourable. The main issue with them is their volatility. Since the value of an online currency is not determined by any bank or governing authority and also because it is highly sensitive to economic and political factors, it can make the global financial market unstable. For instance, the banning of Bitcoin in China was followed by a major drop in its price, which meant substantial losses for many multinational companies and hedge funds holding their earning in cryptocurrency as well as individual investors. In this regard, this form of currency can not only be a risky investment but also contribute to financial instability. Despite having some downsides, the ever-increasing use of online currencies is largely a positive trend. The primary advantage of this medium of exchange is security. Unlike with fiat money, transactions made with cryptocurrencies are more secure seeing as they can be tracked by everyone. Such transparency ensures that there is a limited risk of fraud. More important is the individual freedom that cryptocurrencies confer on individuals. The fact that digital currencies are decentralized means neither banks nor governments can withhold them in case of malicious lawsuits and political conflicts. Therefore, individuals have more autonomy and access to their personal holdings with online currencies than they do with traditional ones. In conclusion, while online currencies are not without their downsides, I tend to think their growing use is a positive trend as it curtails money fraud and allows people more authority over their money.